Happy New Year.  I hope all of you had a great holiday season with your family and friends.  As a result of the November elections, January 2019 ushers in a new Congress in Washington and a new General Assembly in Springfield.  In both cases there are new legislators who have not yet had an opportunity to tour Misericordia and learn about all of our great programs and the world-class care Misericordia provides our loved ones.  While these new members of Congress and the General Assembly may have heard of Misericordia and may be aware of its sterling reputation, nothing drives home the point like a tour.  I have seen this first hand with my own eyes.  Over the past few years, I have participated in numerous tours with state and federal legislators and administrators.  All of them come to Misericordia well aware of Misericordia’s reputation for excellent care.  However, by the end of the tour, each person, without exception, is amazed at what they have seen.  They see firsthand the beautiful campus and the innovative programs.  But, more important, they see the loving care that our staff provides each and every resident.  By the end of the tour, we have a new ally; someone we can call on when there is new legislation or policy guidance that we want them to either support or oppose.  When we call on them, they will remember their tour and they will understand the position we are taking and asking them to support.  There is nothing that can take the place of a tour.

Therefore, if you live in the district of any of our new members of Congress or the General Assembly, please contact your legislator and ask them to take a tour.  I have listed below, the new federal and state legislators and their districts.  Please do not feel intimidated by the thought of contacting these public officials.  Remember that you elected them and they need your vote to continue in office.  They are public servants; they work for you.  You are their boss.  More important, they enjoy talking to their constituents and they are happy to hear about what is important to you. You should feel free to call or e mail them.  You can also watch for and attend their town hall meetings which provide an opportunity to address them in person.  I am more than happy to help you reach out to your congressman or state representative or senator.

Here are the new members of Congress from Illinois and their districts:

Jesus Garcia – 4th District covering large portions of Chicago and the western suburbs

Sean Casten – 6th District covering portions of the south, western, and northern suburbs including Downers Grove, Naperville, Wheaton, Carol Stream, Algonquin, Palatine, Lake Zurich

Lauren Underwood – 14th District covering far southwest, west and northwest suburbs including Sandwich, Little Rock, Batavia, Harvard, McHenry, Antioch


Here are the new state representatives in Springfield and their districts:


Chicago Area              

                              Aaron Ortiz – 1st Dist

                              Curtis Tarver – 25th Dist

                              Debbie Meyers-Martin – 38th Dist 

                              Amy Grant - 42nd Dist

                              Diane Pappas - 45th Dist

                              Terra Costa Howard - 48th Dist

                              Karina Villa - 49th Dist

                              Mary Edly-Allen - 51st Dist

                              Mark Walker - 53rd Dist

                              Bob Morgan - 58th Dist

                              Daniel Didech - 59th Dist

                              Joyce Mason - 61st Dist

                              Tom Weber - 64th Dist

                              Dan Ugaste - 65th Dist

                              Anne Stava-Murray - 81st Dist



                              Lance Yednock - 76th Dist

                              Andrew Chesney - 89th Dist

                              Mike Murphy - 99th Dist

                              Dan Caulkins - 101st Dist

                              Blaine Wilhour - 107th Dist

                              Darren Bailey - 109th Dist

                              Chris Miller - 110th Dist

                              Patrick Windhorst - 118th Dist


Here are the new state senators in Springfield and their districts:


Chicago Area

                              Omar Aquino - 2nd Dist

                              Donald DeWitte - 33rd Dist

                              Lauren Ellman - 21st Dist

                              Anne Gillespie - 27th Dist

                              Suzy Glowiak - 24th Dist

                              Dan McConchie - 26th Dist

                              Ram Villiralam - 8th Dist

                              Crain Wilcox - 32nd Dist



                              Neil Anderson - 36th Dist

                              Christopher Belt - 57th Dist

                              Cristina Castro - 22nd Dist

                              Rochelle Crowe - 56th Dist

                              John Curran - 41st Dist

                              Dale Fowler - 59th Dist

                              Steve McClure - 50th Dist

                              Laura Murphy - 28th Dist

                              Robert Peters - 13th Dist

                              Jason Plummer - 54th Dist

                              Paul Schimpf - 58th Dist

                              Brian Stewart - 45th Dist

                              Jil Tracy - 47th Dist


If you live in the above districts or you know any of these new legislators, please ask them to accompany you on a tour of Misericordia.  If you want help making the contact, please reach out to me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Thanks, Scott